Student Trustee Panel Recommendation

Introduction

On Thursday 10 November the Appointments Committee interviewed two candidates (Daryl Sharpe and Kirran Khan) who applied for the vacant Student Trustee positions on the Trustee Board. Both candidates completed the application process and Trustee Declaration form and thus have met the requirements to be considered by the Committee.

In accordance with the Union's Articles and Bye Laws the Committee consisted of Leigh Rooney (President), Grace Anderson (Education Officer), Kat Younger (Welfare Officer), Mohammad Ali (LAIBS Postgraduate Research Rep), and Paul McHugh (External Trustee).

Each candidate answered 6 questions put to them by the Committee, using a scoring system. The panel also took the opportunity to ask follow up questions and, whilst they may help Panel members to make their recommendations the answers to these questions were not scored.

Both candidates were able to answer the questions effectively and there were no answers provided by the applicants that gave the Committee members cause for concern. The members of the Committee felt both candidates would be effective Student Trustees and **AGREED** that Daryl Sharpe and Kirran Khan should be appointed as Student Trustees for the term of two years.

DECISION REQUIRED

Student Council is asked to **RATIFY** the decision of the Appointments Committee to appoint Daryl Sharpe and Kirran Khan as Student Trustees in accordance with the Union's Articles and Bye-Laws.

Leigh Rooney

President and Chair of the Board

Matthew Ensor

Chief Executive Officer

Anglia Ruskin Students' Union